In Ann Arbor, the penalty for being caught with marijuana is a $25 fine for the first offense, $50 for the second, and $100 for the third offense. Marijuana is not decriminalized on the University of Michigan’s campus.
The state allows conditional release or alternative or diversion sentencing for people facing their first prosecutions. Usually, conditional release lets a person opt for probation rather than trial. After successfully completing probation, the individual’s criminal record does not reflect the charge.
Generally, legalization means a policy that supports a legally controlled market for marijuana, where consumers can buy marijuana for personal use from a safe legal source.
Within a residence, an adult may possess up to 10 ounces of marijuana and any marijuana produced by marijuana cultivated on the premises.
An adult may possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana; up to 15 grams of marijuana may be marijuana concentrate.
This state has local jurisdictions that have enacted municipal laws or resolutions either fully or partially decriminalizing minor cannabis possession offenses.
An adult who possesses more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana within a residence must store the excess amount in a secure container. Possession of more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana and up to 5.0 ounces of marijuana is a civil infraction punishable by a maximum fine of $500 and forfeiture of the marijuana for a first offense.
Any conviction will result in a driver’s license suspension for 6 months.
This state has enacted legislation explicitly providing the opportunity for those with marijuana convictions for activities that have since been decriminalized/legalized to have past marijuana convictions expunged, vacated, otherwise set aside, or sealed from public view.
Previously, it was against the law for private citizens to cultivate marijuana unless they qualified under the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program. In other words, you could not grow marijuana for recreational use. That has now changed as a result of the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act (MRTMA) that was passed in November of 2018. Michigan’s laws for the cultivation of marijuana are now among the most lax in the nation. Under the new law, persons 21 years or older can cultivate a total of 12 marijuana plants within their residence at one time.
Cultivation and Possession with Intent to Sell Marijuana Decriminalized
Until that time, selling or distributing marijuana is presumably punishable. If you are in possession of more than 24 plants and are selling marijuana, be aware that you could be charged with a misdemeanor. And since your possession would be considered “for a commercial purpose,” a conviction could result in jail time.
Federal Marijuana Trafficking Charges
Michigan marijuana attorney Maurice Davis has the knowledge and experience you need to navigate this changing legal landscape. If you’re facing marijuana charges or are worried about whether you could be charged with a crime, he can help you get the answers and results you need. Call Davis Law Group at (313) 818-3238 or use our online contact form to schedule a free and confidential consultation.