growing weed laws in new york

The penalty for growing more than the legal number of plants is a civil penalty of up to $200.

However, under New York State Law, it is still illegal to possess or sell more than three ounces of cannabis or more than twenty-four grams of concentrated cannabis. See NYS Penal Law Art 222 for a list of new Cannabis/marihuana related offenses and the fine or civil penalty associated with each violation level offense.

People with prior marihuana related convictions in New York State that would now be legal under the new law would have their records automatically expunged.

Under New York State Law as of March 31, 2021, it is now legal for a person 21 years of age or older to possess, purchase, or transport up to three ounces of cannabis and up to twenty-four grams of concentrated cannabis.

Violations, Fines, and Civil Penalties

Under New York State Law, it is now legal for a person 21 years of age or older to smoke cannabis anywhere that smoking tobacco would be permitted unless another law, rule or local policy forbids it. Additionally, private establishments or businesses have the right to make their own rules and policies regarding the possession, use or transfer of cannabis on private property or buildings.

Effective immediately, under New York State Law, there are no penalties for public possession of up to three ounces of cannabis or 24 grams of marihuana concentrates.

Use:

Expungement

Cannabis Plants:

Additionally, under New York State Law it is now legal for a person 21 years of age or older to give or transfer up to three ounces of cannabis and up to twenty-four grams of concentrated cannabis, to another person 21 years of age or older, as long as it is given without any payment.

Growing weed laws in new york

Hochul was quick to assemble the Cannabis Control Board upon taking office in August. It held its second meeting on Thursday.

The board had six months to issue those rules, but former Gov. Andrew Cuomo never appointed its members during his tenure and that deadline passed.

This is the first major step taken by the Cannabis Control Board to put the provisions of the Marijuana Regulation and Taxation Act into action. The law, which also legalized recreational marijuana in New York, passed in March. It included permission for home cultivation of medical marijuana but only after the board put regulations in place.

New York’s Cannabis Control Board issued regulations Thursday to allow medical marijuana users and their caregivers to grow their own supply at home.

Medical marijuana has been legal in The Empire State since 2014, but it hasn’t always been easy to access. Patients in New York have to be approved by a medical professional and must acquire their marijuana from a licensed dispensary. Those products can be expensive and aren’t typically covered by insurance. One company, Vireo Health, recommends patients bring between $100 and $350 on their first visit to a dispensary.

"I applaud Governor [Kathy] Hochul, the Cannabis Control Board and the entire team at the Office of Cannabis Management for swiftly addressing this long-standing issue for certified patients and their caregivers,” State Senator Diane Savino said in a statement on the new regulations.

The proposal, now open to public comment for 60 days, would permit the cultivation of up to six marijuana plants in a private residence. The regulation will take effect after the commentary period closes and the board finalizes its language.

“Thanks to the quick action by Governor Hochul and the Legislature in appointing the Board and agency leadership, we are moving full-steam ahead and look forward to continuing to expand the medical program and building a new industry that will operate safely and deliver opportunity to the communities most harmed by the war on drugs,” Cannabis Control Board Chair Tremaine Wright said in a statement on Thursday’s vote to approve the medical marijuana regulations.