growing marijuana outside in maine

See: 28-B M.R.S. §1501(2)(A)

Medical Use

In accordance with Governor Mills’ civil emergency declaration and corresponding executive order, the Office of Marijuana Policy will accept Maine driver’s licenses or identification cards that expired on or after March 15, 2020 as valid for the purposes of registry identification card applications and renewals. The executive order issued by Governor Mills deems these forms of identification extended until 30 days after the termination of the ongoing civil emergency.

Caregivers/Dispensaries/Medical Providers

These restrictions do not apply to the cultivation of marijuana for medical use by a qualifying patient, a caregiver, a registered caregiver or a registered dispensary as authorized by the Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Act.

The Marijuana Legalization Act defines marijuana concentrate as the resin extracted from the cannabis plant including any derivative, mixture or compound including hashish.

Cultivation of 100-499 plants is a plants within 1000 feet of a school or school bus or combined with a prior conviction for a similar crime, use of a firearm or use of a minor is a Class B crime subject to a maximum sentence of 10 years imprisonment with a two year mandatory minimum term of imprisonment and a $10,000 fine.

Miscellaneous

Possession of up to 5 grams of marijuana concentrate is legal with no penalty, no incarceration and no fine. Use of marijuana in public will result in a $100 civil infraction.

Cultivation of 500 or more plants within 1000 feet of a school or school bus combined with a prior conviction for a similar crime, use of a firearm or use of a minor is a Class A crime subject to a maximum sentence of 30 years imprisonment with a four year mandatory minimum term of imprisonment and a $50,000 fine.

See also  berry meow seeds

Paraphernalia

Possession of between 8-16 oz. is a Class D crime punishable by a maximum sentence of one year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,000.