growing marijuana in ny

New York State Office of Cannabis Management executive director Chris Alexander said Thursday, “The unlicensed sale or trading of cannabis is prohibited in New York and home grow is not a license to do either.”

The Cannabis Control Board advanced regulations Thursday allowing medical cannabis to be grown at home. After a 60-day comment period, the board can make changes and then it will go into effect. It’s expected to make cannabis more affordable.

“Cost wise, cannabis can fetch prices of up to $400 an ounce. And if you can grow cannabis in the backyard for pennies an ounce then you are really saving a lot of money,” McGuire said.

As New York’s new marijuana laws begin to go into effect, medical card holders will soon have much greater access.

Marijuana legalization in NY: Now that it’s official, what can you really do?

New Yorkers with medical marijuana cards are only a few months away from being able to cultivate cannabis at home.

Both indoor and outdoor growing will be allowed. Cannabis plants usually smell when they are ready to be harvested. According to experts, filtration devices can help with that.

While Stable Garden currently helps people cultivate cannabis in Massachusetts, New Yorkers with medical cards will soon be allowed as well.

Marijuana legalization in NY: Now that it’s official, what can you really do?

“It is something that I find relieves a lot of symptoms of anxiety and depression,” Chappaqua resident Michael McGuire said. He is a medical marijuana card holder and the founder of Stable Garden, a company that helps people grow cannabis at home.

“They will be able to grow up to six plants for their own personal use. Three which will be full grown, three in their immature stages, not flowering yet,” he said.

Without compensation, exchange of up to 3 ounces of marijuana or 24 grams of concentrate carries no penalty, no imprisonment, and no fine.

Trafficking

Possession of marijuana in excess of 3 ounces is a class A misdemeanor and is punishable by no more than 1 year of imprisonment and a fine not to exceed $1,000. Possession of marijuana in excess of 8 ounces – 16 ounces is a class E felony and is punishable by no more than 4 years of imprisonment and a fine not to exceed $5,000. Possession of marijuana in excess of 16 ounces – 10 pounds is a class D felony and is punishable by no more than 7 years of imprisonment and a fine not to exceed $5,000. Possession of marijuana in excess of 10 pounds is a class C felony and is punishable by no more than 15 years of imprisonment and a fine not to exceed $15,000.

Possession for Personal Use

The presence of Marihuana (including Concentrated Cannabis) in open view in a room, other than a public place, under circumstances that evince an intent to manufacture, package, or otherwise prepare the Marihuana for sale gives rise to a presumption of knowing possession for all those in close proximity to the Marihuana at the time it is found.