You can also grow your own marijuana from home but are limited to six plants for an individual or 12 for a household with two or more adults over 21 years old. But as far as where you can use it, public places are off-limits. However, cities can create their own cannabis consumption areas. Even then, people will have to wait at least until April 1, 2022, to buy it in dispensaries.
As far as enforcement goes, New Mexico State Police said they’ll still be on the lookout for impaired drivers and for people who possess more than the legal limit. “Just like with alcohol, if you choose to use don’t drive, period,” said Cpt. Micah Doering with the NMSP. “Drugged or alcohol-impaired drivers, our enforcement techniques are not going to change at all.”
Judge rules against Old Town restaurant in wage dispute case
If you grow your own marijuana at your house, you will not be allowed to sell it to others. Santa Fe already decriminalized marijuana in 2014 and Albuquerque followed four years later. Cities and counties cannot prohibit cannabis businesses from coming to town but they can create restrictions for store locations and hours of operations.
“Could be sooner depending on the Regulations and Licensing Department offers the opportunity but that really deals with a lot of rulemaking that needs to be in place before April first,” said Rep. Romero. Don’t even think about visiting our neighbor to the north, Colorado, to buy weed there and bring it back to New Mexico. “Legally you can’t cross state lines it’s still against federal law for you to purchase it in another state and then come here,” said Rep. Romero.
Baby born at Miami International Airport given extremely appropriate name
ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (KRQE) – Possessing and growing cannabis becomes legal in New Mexico on June 29 but there are some limits. Even though people 21 years and older can have a certain amount of marijuana on them, they still won’t be able to buy it in stores until next year.
Del. Chris Head (R – Roanoke County) called the bill “a train wreck.”
“Prior to decriminalization taking effect in 2020, the Commonwealth was arresting upwards of 30,000 Virginians annually for marijuana possession,” NORML development director Jenn Michelle Pedini, who also serves as the executive director of the state chapter, Virginia NORML, said. “So while Virginians may be asking, ‘Where can get I cannabis legally,’ it’s unlikely Virginians are asking, ‘Where can I get cannabis?'”
How does one grow marijuana without first breaking the law to acquire the seed?
It’s a question that should be clarified once the new law officially takes effect and the Virginia Cannabis Control Authority jumps into action on July 1.
It will not be legal for that “gift exchange” to happen in public.
RICHMOND, Va. — When Virginia’s new marijuana laws go into effect on July 1, it will become legal for adults 21+ to carry up to an ounce of marijuana. It will also become legal to grow up to four marijuana plants (per household) in Virginia.
The new law does provide at least one legal loophole for interested parties to get started.
However, it will remain illegal to buy or sell seeds with which to grow the plant.
“What we don’t want in Virginia is for people who think they’re doing the right thing to inadvertently break the law and get in trouble for it,” he said. “It’s incumbent on us as responsible adults now that cannabis is legal in Virginia to follow the rules. I’ve never been much of a rule follower, but a lot of us have been waiting for this for a long time, so we’re not going to mess it up.”